Forum Member

Default Complete Newb Questions

Hello everyone, i just signed up on this site and i'm excited to gain more information in the world of firefighthing. my whole life i've been interested in becoming a firefighter, but i really don't know where to begin? i'm 17 years old, 18 in may. but i ultimately want to become a firefighter? i live in san diego. i have lots of questions but i guess i'll just start off with the first few

1) what are the necessary steps to becoming a firefighter? Where do i begin?! I thought about going down to the firestation, but i read in a post, that it'd be good to find a phone #, but i can't seem to find the website for this station (station 24) in san diego.
    2)Do you have to have a degree in Fire science to become a firefighter?
    3)A volunteer firefighter vs. a Paid Firefighter, whats the training difference between the two?

sorry if these questions have been posted, i've been reading up and down the forums, but a lot of the questions seem to be coming from existing firefighters, or people already in training, but i want to know HOW to get into the mix of things...thank you for you time!

-Mike

former FH.com member

Hi Mike,

Welcome to the wonderful wacky world of Fire-EMS. Here is the City of San Diego's FD website, it should give you a lot of helpful info on getting started in your area. http://www.sandiego.gov/fireandems/

Here are some basic tips to help you out. You absolutely MUST have a clean background to be a FF. So stay out of trouble with the law and don't get any tickets. No drugs! (big surprise eh?) If you smoke...quit. Get in shape, stay in shape. Make sure you graduate HS or have your GED.