Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by captray
    I was a JR firefighter for 5 years and I was hanging around the fire department for a few years before that... I am 20 now and a Captain with a VFD. Many people look at me and blow me off because of my age even though I have experience (not 30 years worth but still) and more qualifications that most people no matter what their age. I am Firefighter II, EMT-P, Rescue Tech, Haz-Mat Ops, etc. but am still put down on because of my age. Is that right or should respect be given regardless of age?
    Even though it is a little strange to see a 20 y.0. captain.......

captray, keep your head up and do your job. The respect will come when everyone sees that you are qualified for your position. Only being 20 means you have had just 2 years of actual fire ground experience, so give it some time.

To answer your question; respect shouldn't come with just age, experience, or certifications. Do your job well, be fair and show respect for your fellow firefighters and you will get the respect that you are due!! Take care and stay safe!!
    Just someone trying to help! (And by the way....Thanks for YOUR help!)

Aggressive does not have to equal stupid.

** "The comments made here are this person's views and possibly that of the organizations to which I am affiliated" **

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by THEFIRENUT
    Even though it is a little strange to see a 20 y.0. captain.......

captray, keep your head up and do your job. The respect will come when everyone sees that you are qualified for your position. Only being 20 means you have had just 2 years of actual fire ground experience, so give it some time.

To answer your question; respect shouldn't come with just age, experience, or certifications. Do your job well, be fair and show respect for your fellow firefighters and you will get the respect that you are due!! Take care and stay safe!!