MembersZone Subscriber

Default Fire Science Degree?

Are fire science degrees attained through an online university considered legitamate, or are they frowned upon as opposed to someone who gets their fire science degree by physically going to a school which offers the degree. I am trying to increase the chance of getting hired, but I do not live close to a school that offers a fire science program. Also, if the online route is legitimate; what are some reputable online schools. Thanks for the help.

MembersZone Subscriber

They are absolutely legitimate. Online programs are often more difficult and require a more motivated student to succesfully complete. The Degrees at a Distance Program sponsored by the USFA/NFA (http://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nf...s/distance/)is run through several universities across the country. They use a cuuriculum developed by the USFA/NFA. They are taught by highly qualified instructors using a web-based virtual classroom.

I finished my degree through the program at University of Maryland University College. (http://www.umuc.edu/ugp/majors/fscn.html).

There are also graduate level programs offered in a degree at a distance format. Worcester Polytechnic Institute and University of Maryland offer such programs.

I think if you look at the schools on the list of colleges offering the courses through the NFA (http://www.usfa.fema.gov/training/nf.../college.shtm), the caliber and quality of the programs will be obvious.

Hope this helps.

Forum Member

i have not seen many departments that have strict college requirements. the most frequent requirements I have seen (this is mostly the east coast of course) is FF I/II and/or having national registry paramedic cert. Few require college, those that do typically will require 60 credits or an associates. i have yet to see a department requiring a bachelors and from my expierence a degree in fire science is treated the same as a degree in criminal justice or english.