Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default New to investigation, have some questions

Hi all, i am new to the whole fire investigation scene and i have some questions.....i actually just finished my class and have been thrust right into the world of investigation. The weekend after i finished the class, we had a house explosion which appears to be related to a natural gas leak at this point, but no definitive conclusions have been made yet. I was lucky enough to be able to shadow and do some assisting at this scene, but where do you start on something like that, especially when its your first time in the field. And later that week, a neighboring dept. had a total loss structure fire which we were called to for mutual aid. The chief wanted me to help with determination, but being i am still so new, and am not a part of a county team yet or anything, i passed. My question on this one is again, the place was a total loss with next to nothing left recognizeable, and burn all over. Where might you start in this type of situation.....at least so i have an idea for next time til i get more experience under my belt. Any input will be greatly appreciated, but smartasses will be ignored. Just looking to get my feet wet and get a better understanding for where i am going with this. Thanx all.

Forum Member

OK...where to start? First and foremost congratulations on completing the investigation course. Now back to the point.