Thread: wildland boots

Forum Member

Default wildland boots

hi all im new to fire fighting and was wandering if anyone can tell me a good brand of wildland boots

Forum Member

Nick's or Whites are good if you make your living at it or just want the best, otherwise there are various lower grade boots out there such as Nick's Contender, White's Hathorn, or Wesco boots. There are a few others I think

Birken

Forum Member

Tulare

I've been using Wesco's for going on 15 years now... recently having upgraded to custom fitted, and had no problems. They are rebuildable just like Whites. They've held up through working in NorCal, southern AZ (sonoran desert), and everything in-between. Cost wise, my custom Wesco's ran me about $318 to re-order back in March. Boots are argued about like stihl and husqvarna, ford and chevy... they all get the job done. I've know folks who swear by Red Wings. You need to find what will work for your foot... what you can wear for 14 hours on the line, a few more hours in camp, off for a few hours of sleep, then back at it again.

Good Luck
    IACOJ
    Stopping controlled burning DOES NOT stop the burning, only the control!
    http://www.wy.blm.gov/fireuse/fums.htm

MembersZone Subscriber

Try on as many different types of boots as you can, find something that fits you. Everyones feet are different, and just because one boot fits one person doesn't mean it will work for you.

Forum Member

That being said, I don't "try on" boots when I want them. I send them the drawings and measurements of my feet and they ship the boots to me. When you pull on a new pair and go to work having them fit already with no break in required, those are boots that fit. (Mine are Nick's)

I went with Nicks because I usually go with a smaller company if two comparable products are available; I figure the little guy will be trying to outdo the bigger one.

Birken

MembersZone Subscriber