Forum Member

Default Weight on Directional Pulleys

I was on a drill the other day where some guys were practicing pickoffs. I am a confined space tech so i am familiar with rope and lowering systems. We were setting up a lowering system to lower the rescuer and the victim once they had picked the victim. The issue that I had was that they wanted to put a directional pulley on a guardrail. I said that that was not a good idea due to the fact that OSHA only requires guardrails to withstand 200lb force applied to it in any direction. Now this was a substantial rail, but you dont know what the rail is engineered for, but I do know what the minimum standard is. They said that a directional pulley doesnt take any wieght at all which I dont believe. I know it all depends on the degree of angle as far as weight on it, but I would have to believe that a directional on a guardrail would be carrying too much weight. Especially when you want a 4 to 1 safety factor with 2 guys at 400lbs that would be a factor of 1600lbs. My view is using a directional on any kind of guardrail is a gamble, but I could be wrong. What do you think??

MembersZone Subscriber

The directional should theoretically take all the weight of the rescuers pulling and the load on the line.

Are we talking highway guardrails or guardrails around a platform or something similar? I would assume it's in an industrial setting. I would trust a welded guardrail system to an extent but it is one of those things you would have to see before comitting to.

Forum Member

they are guardrails in an industrial setting and they were bolted to the floor.

Forum Member

If you look at the angle formed by the rope as it passes through the redirect, you can use this to calculate the force on the redirect. The formula is:
    2(cosine(angle/2). Cut the angle in half then get the cosine of that and multiply this by 2.