Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Phoenix 2006 Fire Tests! Mesa, Scottsdale Tests!

Hey everyone, I am currently a firefighter in the FDNY and am looking to make the big move to Phoenix if I could get into the fire department out there. I'm looking for help or advice on the written, academy, really anything. I know that 2000 take the test and they only hire about 1 out of 100. Anyone on the department who wants to help, or anyone taking the test, email me, or post here to share info. With the drop program in effect now is probably the best time ever to apply. I will share my own experiences and advice, or whatever I can. Also looking into Mesa, and Scottsdale, really anything in the valley. Anyway, lets get a thread going, or maybe even a yahoo group to prep for this thing.

MembersZone Subscriber

I am game to start up a group to prep for this...I believe that they send out a packet for their written that you have to study and try to memorize, not sure though. Just a question, why you tryin to get out of the FDNY?

Forum Member

Default Love the job,

but the city just isn't for me. Besides out of control rents and housing (my rent is 1100 for a 1 bedroom, my car insurance with no accidents and NYPD defensive driving course is #5,500/6 months for full coverage-I'm not kidding), I've Been going to Arizona for the last few years visiting and have been planning to move there before I even started FDNY. Love Phoenix, wanna be an FF out there. Anyway, I was thinking, we're not the first people to take this test in history so this "study packet" has to be lying around somewhere. That's step one. I'm not too worried about the physical, we had to do the exact same thing with face pieces and full bunker gear once a week in the academy over here. But it wouldn't be terrible to go over that too. Anyway, I guess email me, if a lot of people are interested we can start a yahoo group. Otherwise we'll just email or post here.