Like Tree3Likes

Thread: fairfax county

MembersZone Subscriber

Thumbs up fairfax county

i am a 20yr old firefighter 2/paramedic from ohio near lancaster area looking for a job anywhere. i have heard a lot about fairfax county and see they are a fairly large department. anyone have any input on the department, is it a nice place to work? nice area to move? i wouldnt mind moving for the right job, and any input would be very helpful. thanks

Forum Member

I currently work for another agency in Fairfax County and am trying to get on with the FRD. I can't give you any info about working for the FRD, but I can tell you that Fairfax County is a really nice place to live, and working for the county is good too. The nice thing about working for the FRD is that there are 37 (I think) different stations, with at least one more opening fairly soon, so you could work in a lot of diverse areas.

If you haven't checked it out already:

http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/fr/

Plus if you're a medic, they still aggressively hiring for those positions.

MembersZone Subscriber

You'll need more than a firefighter's salary to live there though.

Rabble rouser

Quote Originally Posted by nlfdrescue8
    i am a 20yr old firefighter 2/paramedic from ohio near lancaster area looking for a job anywhere. i have heard a lot about fairfax county and see they are a fairly large department. anyone have any input on the department, is it a nice place to work? nice area to move? i wouldnt mind moving for the right job, and any input would be very helpful. thanks