Forum Member

Default Starting to apply.. a couple of questions

Well,
    I am starting to apply for this year. I registered and have my resume complete at Avue Digital. Since this will be my first Wildland Fire Season, I have a couple of questions. BTW, I am a Certified Wildland Firefighter/EMT.

My first question is that I noticed that each job posting is by state. I live in Texas, so lets say, I get the job in Montana. Do I pay to fly myself up there? How does that whole thing work?

What are the on/off days of Wildland? Obviously I know tons of hard hours, and I love Wildland, I just want to get the feel for everything, and I have a family who fully supports me, but will I not get to see them for the whole fire season?

Will the agency Pack test me, or is it something I will have to find on my own and get done?

My original understanding, of lets say, working for USFS, was that you would be hired and then they fly you where they need you? Anyway, these were my initial questions as I am looking through these job openings. Thanks in advance for any info!
    Wildland Firefighter/EMT-B
    "Why be Structured when you can go Wild?"

Forum Member

I don't have all the answers, but here is what I have to offer you based on my experience. I am a member of a BLM IHC (Interagency Hotshot Crew) in Ca and can give you my perspective based on my last 2 seasons. We had guys from through out the US who moved to California just for the fire season.

#1- You are responsible for your own travel expenses to station location. You will be required to relocate to have an hour or less response time to the station. You may get lucky with the USFS to get a station that has barracks available to you. They are in expensive and make the move a little easier.