Forum Member

Red face Need Firefighter Input!

I was a firefighter for 5 years (before kids!) and my husband was for 10. I'm 3rd gen. with parents, brother all firefighters. Grandfather died in service to our small volunteer dept back in '73. Anyway, now that I can no longer be a firefighter,( we have 4 kids ages 5yrs to 9weeks old,) I just joined the ladies auxiliary of the small town we moved to last summer. We bought our 1st house and husband joined the department a few months ago. It's a very new auxilary and very small, about 15 members. I would like to be able to help this new auxiliary with being as supportive to our firefighters as possible. We are starting with some great fundraisers (Had our 1st pancake breakfast today!), and some fun community events, like Halloween party. But I'd like to know from the firefighters with experience in this stuff, what kinds of things do you need on working fires?? What kinds of things would you want your auxiliary to be doing for you?? what things are working in your department?? If I can't be on that fire scene, then gosh darn, I want to be able to do SOMETHING besides sit listening to the scanner going crazy!! Thanks! Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Forum Member

What kinds of things do you need on working fires??
    Water, Gatorade, Pop, Coffee, Hot Chocolate. Food is always good on those long fires, i.e. donuts, breakfast back at the station.

What kinds of things would you want your auxiliary to be doing for you??
    Help with fundraising. We have an ice cream social where most of the ladies donate homemade cakes which we raffle off.

What things are working in your department??
    The ice cream social is a big hit every year, most people look forward to it year after year.

Hope that was the kind of info you were looking for.

MembersZone Subscriber