Thread: Background

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Background

I'm a Firefighter/Paramedic seeking a career in the fire service. I'v been applying for abour two years. I have a clean background and have never been in trouble. What scares me is the mistakes I made as a young man in high school. (Over Ten Years Ago) I tried a couple of drugs and I have been clean for 10 years. I'm truthful on all may applications about the usage. Will the usage keep me from getting a job? Will departments consider the person that I grow up to be?
    Thanks for your help.

Forum Member

Default just do what they asked

Most departments will look at who you are now. The fact that is was ten years ago and you were so young, along with the fact that that is not who you are now should be a positive. We go out on people that have made similar mistakes all of the time. I think to be able to relate to those things with you personal experience helps in helping then. We donít need a bunch of people looking down their noses at people.

Of course it depends on what drugs you did, and how much. If you were doing speedballs, shooting cocaine and heroine, it doesnít matter how long ago it was, you would be out. I would be honest, but you donít need to add anything other than what they asked for, if they ask what drugs you did, you donít and shouldnít give a long story about how much, how often and why, just answer the question as asked. If they want to know more about those things they will ask. Remember to read all of the questions and answer exactly what they asked, that is what they want on both your application and background packets.
    Good Luck, Capt Rob
    www.myfireinterview.com
    nrtc@sonic.net
    707 869 1330

Rabble rouser

Here in Fairfax County, it is my understanding that there are certian drugs that are disqualifiers, like LSD and other hallucinogenics.

As for marijuana and others, they take into account the last time that you did it and how many times...