Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber SteveDude's Avatar

Default London Aircraft Near Miss...

The Weekend before last, when I was working, this photograph was taken over West Ham Football Club Stadium during a Match in East London....for ease of translation substitute WHUFC Stadium for Yankee Stadium and you have an idea of the local geography/demography.

The CAA have denied it was a near miss, stating that the effect of the photograph was exaggerated and the planes were 2.5 miles apart!!! WTF??? I am no expert on ATC or photography, and I admit a zoom lens can cause some distortion. but 2.5 miles??? There isn't that much difference in size between a 737 & 777...

I know some London Ambulance Paramedics who were at the game and saw this...they said it looked very close from the ground without distortion from the camera.

London has been blessed, with 4 International & 1 European Airports serving the Capital and as the Gateway between Europe and the US, Heathrow the largest is the busiest airport in the world, the Thames gateway (along the river leading into London) is apparently the most congested airspace in the World.

We have managed to avoid an aircrash in London since 1973...God knows how and near misses are aregualr story over here.... have we just come close to a reapeat of what happened over Brooklyn in 1960?

BBC Link
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Steve Dude
    IACOJ member
    www.fireservice.co.uk

London Fire Brigade...."Can Do"

'Irony'... It's a British thing.

MembersZone Subscriber mcaldwell's Avatar

2.5 km, maaaayyyybe.

2.5 miles, my *****!

I would love to get the real story from the pilot over a beer.
    Never argue with an Idiot. They drag you down to their level, and then beat you with experience!

IACOJ