Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Unsettling Rumor...

I was recently talking to an Army recruiter. I was asking him about becoming a military firefighter and he told me something rather upsetting. He said that the military is currently phasing out military firefighting and is going to switch to having civilian fire departments on it's bases. Is this just recruiter B.S. or is this true? I'd appreciate any information on the topic. I was hoping to do firefighting as my M.O.S. when I leave high school, I truely hope this is incorrect.

don't listen to him. They told me the same thing. Go to the air force. The army has like 500 firefighters total, the air force has several thousand. I'm in school right now to be an Air Force firefighter.
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

The Army, Air Force, Navy, and Marines have military firefighters. Most of the firefighters on the stateside bases are civilians. The Army has very few military firefighters, and they mostly seem to do fire duty only when deployed. The Marines cover airfield only when stateside, everything when deployed. The Air Force get mixed in with the civilians and do airfield and structural at the AFBs and deployed. The Navy has a very small contingent of firefighters, mostly on carriers.

All US military firefighters go to the same school. As I've said on here many times, if you want to join the military for firefighting training, go Air Force. They get all the money and high speed equipment. If you want to be a Marine, and get some some fire training, great, but the Marine part comes first. From what I know about the Army's firefighting MOS-I wouldn't go there. The Army does many things well, but I haven't met an Army firefighter that didn't feel misused and misled.