Thread: Firefighter one

MembersZone Subscriber

Question Firefighter one

Hi everyone,
    I was sitting in a meeting at the firehouse last night and heard something very dioscouraging. Apparently there is a group of people in my volunteer agency that is dead-set against firefighter-1 training for our volunteers.
    One reason is that no one in their right mind would want to invest that kind of time anyway,...
    and the other was that apparently the practice of interior fire attack is going to be a thing from the past soon.

Now, I have been a certified firefighter for years and have a degree in fire science. I have never heard of this.
    Can I have some input from some of you - especially (though not limited to) members of volunteer or combination agencies?

We are having a shortage of recruits because we are in a bedroom community and not a whle lot of people are around during the day.
    I think that by supplying training to new members (even though most of our older members don't have it) we could make ourselves into a department people would like to be active with.

So.....
    What are your thoughts?

Arno van Zoeren, ff-emt
    Simla Vol. Fire Dept.
    Simla, Co

MembersZone Subscriber

While firefighter one was a long course about 4 months of ever wednesday and every other saturday sunday weekend, it was very much worth it. it lets you know, as a department that your people, if passed fire1 are held to all the same standard of a basic firefighter. i dont know what their thinking is, but this is how LODD's happen. Firefighter safety to me is #1.
    -Eric Valli
    EHVFD
    Better Live for something, Or you will Die for Nothing.

Forum Member

Its called CHANGE alot of vollies dont like it, especially old timers(personal experience there) our present chief was the first togo to NFA and he found the letter in the garbage one day, put there by one of the old timers.
    gotta stop i could write paragraphs about this