Forum Member

Talking Found an AWESOME website for Recruits to get a taste...

I'm in the recruit process now at a big county in VA. I can't stop thinking about and dreaming about becoming a firefighter. It's ALL I want! I'm obsessed, I want it SO badly! And I can't stand the awful, long recruitment process (1 year). I don't know what I'll do if I don't make it so I'm doing everything possible (physical training, heavy research, purchasing study guides, fire support materials, discussion groups, bugging friends in the force, ride-a-longs, etc.) to help me score as high as possible and put me at the top of the list.

I'm disadvantaged because I have ZERO FF experience, no EMT or anything. Just a TREMENDOUS DRIVE to become a firefighter and KICK *** at the age of 38 (yeah, I'm the same guy with the other post about how old is too old)!!

Anyway, found this AWESOME website for Long Beach, CA fire dept. It has videos, pictures, so much cool stuff for those who are obsessed with becoming a firefighter like me (tell me there are other NUTS like me out there)...

http://www.lbfdtraining.com/academy.html

You have to really explore the site to find all the nooks and crannies with SO much information and pics and videos.

Also...FIRE VIDEOS from them...
    http://www.firechannel.org/

Enjoy my fellow obsessed recruits!!

Tucker9 from Virginia

MembersZone Subscriber

Hey bro...what county in VA????

We may be in the same process.

MembersZone Subscriber

By the way the firechannel site is pretty bad *****!!!

Forum Member

Fairfax County. You?

MembersZone Subscriber

Chesterfield...any word yet for you??

Forum Member

I've seen this site before. Good Stuff!

Good Luck guys!
    ------------------------------------
    These opinions are mine and do not reflect the opinions of any organizations I am affiliated with.
    ------------------------------------

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by rocdoc
    Chesterfield...any word yet for you??