Forum Member

Default ANG FF vs Air Force Reserve FF

Ive been looking at both options, either air national guard fire protection or air force reserve fire protection. Would anybody be able to tell me if there are any major differences between the two?
    thanks,
    dan

Forum Member

any reason why you don't wanna go active duty? Or are you just in it for the certs?
    When I get to hell
    The devil he will say
    "How'd you put my fires out?
    In just one day?"
    I lift my hose up higher and higher
    that's how I do it, I'm a firefighter!

MembersZone Subscriber

Default ANG FF vs Air Force Reserve FF

As a member of a ANG Fire Dept, I can only speak for that. Feel free to email me directly at bbreiler@yahoo.com

Brad

Forum Member

Depends on were you are at, I'm a guardsman we train alot and staff the station on our drill weekends. At the Reserve base near by the reservists are see as a mobilty function only and do NOT staff apparatus on their weekends. That base is staffed By the DoD civilains 24/7/365. I recomend talking to members of both units you are looking at, talk to the recruiters and the base fire chief and see if you can come down during a drill weekend and shadow the guys around and get a feel of which is better suited to your needs.

Forum Member

I actually was going pararescue in the AF, but due to a couple major life changes, I need to be close to help with my family. I still want to serve my country however, and I figured this was the next best way. Im just curious as to any better training, benefits, certs, between the ANG and AF Reserve. To those reserve and ANG guys, what is your civilain career? Are you taking any courses?
    thanks

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by yoe400800