Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default 10% LEL Questions

We had good size spill at the University of Minnesota last week. I am a Haz Tech and Disposal Spec. The Minneapolis Fire Dept showed first and entered the chemical storage area (not designed specifically for chemicals) where a Flammable Storage cabinet's shelves fell while a researcher was placing chemicals in the cabinet. About 24 liters was the spill size. Liquid on the floor, and the bottom of the cabinet was full of liquid. The fire dept didn't get any LEL and only about 200 ppm on the VOC (PID). So the incident was handed to the University HazMat staff. I was on the entry team and when we opened the door we got a 33 LEL, with correction factor it was about 60 something. The spill was 5 feet from the door. We got about 2200 ppm on the RAE VOC. We cleaned the spill of Hexane, Acetonitrile, and Chloroform. I know we were way above IDLH for Chloroform at the least. In the after action we discussed the fact that even if we hit 10% LEL anywhere we should back out.

My thought is no matter what you do if you are picking up free liquid and its flammable you will hit the 10% LEL no matter what.

Finally my questions. At what point do you back out if you hit 10% LEL? What if you are cleaning it up and hit i10% LEL?
    If you can read this, Thank a teacher. Since this is in english, Thank a Marine.

Forum Member

Mind you I'm only trained to the Ops level. Hopefully, I'm never put in that situation until I have the proper training and experience.

How exactly were you guys cleaning it up?

I did find this on the web...

The National Fire Protection Association has assigned a flammability rating of 0 (no fire hazard) to chloroform.

Chloroform is slightly soluble with water...so you could have put a slight damper on the vapors with some water.