Forum Member

Default Volunteer Department Abuse

I am a Volunteer Firefighter in Warren County Ms. Our department is one of five county volunteer departments, with a city paid department in the center of the county. The paid department operates all rescue service and provides advanced life support ambulance services. The county must pay a certain amount of money every year to recieve rescue response and ambulance response to the county. Five years ago we were paying about $200,000 a year for this service. Now, we are paying around $350,000 for the the same service. It is a known fact that the mayor and fire chief of the city does not like volunteer fire departments. They have openly stated that they believe volunteers are incompetant people who do not know what they are doing. Many volunteers have requested to go and train in the rescue areas that is being provided by the city department. We want to take over rescue response so we will not have to pay as much. I was wondering if there was a service through Firehouse.com that could help with this issue. I would be more than happy to give as much information about the subject. We just want whats best for the community.

Early Adopter

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by CulkinVFD
    The paid department operates all rescue service and provides advanced life support ambulance services. The county must pay a certain amount of money every year to recieve rescue response and ambulance response to the county. Five years ago we were paying about $200,000 a year for this service. Now, we are paying around $350,000 for the the same service. It is a known fact that the mayor and fire chief of the city does not like volunteer fire departments.
    Don't worry about the mayor or the fire chief of the city. Their only role here is as provider of a contracted service. They don't make direct decisions regarding the operation of county government. Your county administrator and governing body is where you should take this issue.