MembersZone Subscriber

Default A quick question

I am currently applying for full-time positions in the fire service, and I have one quick question. Unlike most people, my concerns have nothing to do with the written tests or oral boards. I test well, and was an english major in college, so I can communicate at an above-average level. My concerns are more in the areas of my weight.

From the agility tests that I have seen, I know that I can perform most tests in the alotted amount of time. I have enough experience from firefighter I training to know what the desired tasks expected of a recruit will require. However, I have struggled with my weight off and on since I graduated with high school. Most departments I have seen do not publish height and weight standards, and while I am by no means obese, I am definitely overweight. Should I hold off on the employment process until I can cut some weight, or should I press on, since I know that I can perform the duties required on most agility tests I have seen?

Also, in your areas, what are required on the agility tests? The ones I have seen locally are all based on actual fireground activities, i.e. raising and lower ladders, carrying equipment, victim drags, hoisting hoses, etc. Is this what I should expect everywhere, or in some areas do they require more of a physical fitness test that includes distance running, etc?

Thanks

Sean Bulger

Rabble rouser

I would say apply. If you are confident that you can perform, go for it.

Here in Fairfax County we use the CPAT (http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/fr/recr...hPictures2.pdf) for our entry physical test, which if you know proper fireground techniques, it helps ALOT.
    Member IACOJ - Building crust and full of lust...

"It's okay to to scared, just don't be chicken." - Clark

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Apply