Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Why can't a career firefighter get hired based on training and experience?

I have been in the fire service since 1973 in one way or another. I took a break for about 25 years to serve my country in the Marine Corps. In 2000 I decided to go back to the fire service upon retirement from the military. I went to college for two years majoring in fire science. At age 42, I took the CPAT in L.A. County, CA and passed. I moved back east and was hired by a fire department in NC. I have been a career firefighter for six years. I have attended two fire academies and successfully earned an IFSAC FF II Cert, a HazMat Tech Cert, National Registry EMT-B, experienced EMT in three states and currently am a Driver/Operator. I have other training as well that would be useful any where. Why is it that the majority of the fire departments in this country require you to basically start all over again as a condition to be hired. What if there were all fire departments trained to a national standard? How many academies does it take to make a firefighter? Wouldn't it be cost effective for the fire department to send experienced firefighters through a structured curriculum for a period of time to indoctrinate them in that departments SOP? What do you think?
    Last edited by JAXFF7086; 03-05-2006 at 06:09 PM. Reason: Don't matter.

MembersZone Subscriber