Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Fire Department Thesis Questions

Hi to Every Fire, Rescue, and Police personal in America

I am a 4th year Architecture Student at the University of Maine at Augusta studying my thesis. My topic is to design a combined Police, Fire, and Rescue building for my community. I was wondering if any of you knew of any good information web sites that I could check out that would help my knowledge. Any information on designing a Emergency Response building would really increase my thesis research.

One question that I have is why Bay doors are round or square? Does it serve a purpose to have them rounded?

From a Dedicated Supportor of our Response Teams

Forum Member

I dont believe bay doors are ever rounded, it is just the opening that is round. Many times they have a keystone in the center.

When desinging a emergency response building, you really cant without knowing more about that peticular department. There is not a genaric floor plan that works for all.

How well you do in your presentation of your building for your thesis has a lot to do on how good of a BS'er you are. Its unfortunate, but I know many that did well on design projects when they had not done much of what they said they did. Its more important that is looks good, and you look good than the actuall data.
    I was class of 02 at Lawrence Tech in architecture.

MembersZone Subscriber

stevens0721- Westbrook just opened a combine Fire/Police/Rescue station last year. We just got rid of the PD from our building two years ago. Camden, aslo just renovated their station and added the PD into the building, but rescue is up the street. Fire Chief magazine just had its Fire Station architecture awards a few months back. many factors are show int he magazine, such as design, cost per sq. ft. total sq. ft. and total cost. If you need any more local help post me an email address and I'll get in touch.