MembersZone Subscriber

Default EMT or Paramedic

I know there has been alot of discussion on here about this but. I am going to be testinig for a lot of the chicago suburbs and most of them will make you become a paramedic, if they dont require it to apply. Now my question, should I go ahead and get my medic now or should I wait until I get up there and see where I end up. I am also testing with non-ALS depts, so if I were to get hired with a non-ALS dept I would be wasting my time getting my medic lic. I am an EMT-B now and I am one of those people that dont mind runing EMS calls but I dont really want to be a medic. I would like to stay at the EMT-B or even EMT-I level. What do you people suggest?

Forum Member

I would suggest finding a department or two that provides the service that you want to provide. Concentrate your effort on them. I would bet that medic class wont be fun or easy if you truely dont wanna be a medic.
    Just another one of the 99%ers looking up.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by firefightermfd1
    I know there has been alot of discussion on here about this but. I am going to be testinig for a lot of the chicago suburbs and most of them will make you become a paramedic, if they dont require it to apply. Now my question, should I go ahead and get my medic now or should I wait until I get up there and see where I end up. I am also testing with non-ALS depts, so if I were to get hired with a non-ALS dept I would be wasting my time getting my medic lic. I am an EMT-B now and I am one of those people that dont mind runing EMS calls but I dont really want to be a medic. I would like to stay at the EMT-B or even EMT-I level. What do you people suggest?