Thread: Pac brake

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Pac brake

Im looking for some input on the pac brake , we currently are using jake brakes and have no problems, but we also like to look around at other produts that may work better for us , your input is greatly appreciated

Forum Member

I know that Pac Brake is a specific manufacturer of an exhaust brake- the only aux. braking device available on the smaller engines- "C" series cummins, 40 or 50 Series Detroits, etc; as these engines are too small for Jake Brakes.

The Pac Brake is an exhaust retarder. While I have no experience with Pac Brake, I have driven several trucks with exhaust retarders- a C Block Cummins and a 40 series Detroit. The exhaust brakes worked pretty good, and I would reccomend them on the smaller engines. I honestly dont know if they are even available on the larger engines.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

Jake brakes are exhaust brakes. Jacobs engine brakes are just a trade name really. Any diesel can have one. We have jakes on two rigs and they work well, but remember in wet or icy conditions they shouldnt be used.( I know I dont follow that rule I cut it back to 4 or 2 cylinders and just go slower)
    Honestly most fire trucks dont really need jake brakes . They work in mountains and steep hills the best ( that being said I used to annoy people in the flat lands with mine when I drove truck) but they do help slow you down in a hurry on the flatlands. Keep in mind some locales are outlawing their use in cities and towns unless an emergency exists.

Forum Member

Jake brakes and exhaust brakes are definitely not the same thing. A jake brake might be generically called a "compression brake" that works by modifying valve timing while an exhaust brake is a flapper that closes off the exhaust.