Forum Member

Default Tornado response guidelines/plans????

Greetings all,

I'm new to the Firehouse forums and am not sure where to post this question, so here goes.

Can anyone suggest a website or other location that would give information on emergency response to a tornado event? Or plans your department implements? It is the time of the year when tornados start occurring here in the Midwest and I'd like to gather some information to present to my department.........being pro-active!

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Brad

Forum Member

ive been to 2 tornadoes and 1 i had the unfortunate honor of being the IC. I can honestly say it would all depend on how the call came in. ie. subjects trapped or fire or just general destruction. there are way too many factors and what ifs so its up in the air for me . im on 3 departments 1 being fully paid staff and none of the 3 have a natural disaster response SOP.

Forum Member

Thanks for the quick response Newbomb.

Can you suggest any type of pre-event planning or areas that might need to be addressed?......apparatus staging, manpower call-in, communications, extra EMS supplies distributed, ?????

I'm sure if it happens, it will almost be a free-for-all type of response. The loss of communications seems to be the greatest challenge.

My department is entirely blind to of any of this, and I'm afraid if someone doesn't address the possibility of a tornado occurring, the chaos will be tenfold if it occurs.

Thanks,

Brad

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by JBLove
    Thanks for the quick response Newbomb.

Can you suggest any type of pre-event planning or areas that might need to be addressed?......apparatus staging, manpower call-in, communications, extra EMS supplies distributed, ?????

I'm sure if it happens, it will almost be a free-for-all type of response. The loss of communications seems to be the greatest challenge.