Thread: Response

Forum Member

Default Response

My department, along with the 99.9% of my surrounding departments use downgraded response codes such as level 2 (lights only) and level 1 (no emergency warning devices, obey all traffic laws). As you all probably know, Jersey Title 39 states that all (lights and sirens) or nothing when responding to calls. Just curious on how everybody else works when it comes to a down graded response and responding just lights, or if you even do it. I am a police officer and I am well aware that there is a bunch of crap within title 39 and half of it is out dated, but unfortunately if you are involved in an accident and you don’t have your siren on, your screwed. Just curious on how everyone runs…..

Forum Member

Exclamation

LIGHTS AND SIRENS ALL THE WAY! Even when told not to!

MembersZone Subscriber

Huh? Sometimes I read stuff on this board that just makes me think I'm going to pass out.

Emergency - Use your lights and siren. Non-emergency - travel like every other vehicle with NO lights and NO siren

I don't understand the thought process of lights only and I certainly don't understand how you can justify a hot response for every response.

Forum Member

We run lights on all calls, sirens only when needed. When our response is stepped down, lights may remain on but no sirens. Some guys turn the lights off as well. Then again, our longest response is a whopping 1 mile.
    "This thread is being closed as it is off-topic and not related to the fire industry." - Isn't that what the Off Duty forum was for?

MembersZone Subscriber

BC Law also requires all or nothing. You cannot run lights only.

We used to use our lights for code 2 responses, but have since changed the SOG after much legal opinion in recent years.

I have found that with lights only, people do still tend to accomodate you, and that leads most operators to contravene the traffic act without realizing the risk they are taking.