Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Question Physical Agility Test vs Firefighting

I was wondering if some of you would provide your opinion on a matter for me. I have taken a physical agility test a few times, not the CPAT, and I haven't passed it. I haven't taken it in a few years mostly because I decided to go finish college. Now, I'm a volunteer firefighter and I started riding at a combination-mostly paid department and I kept up with any of the career guys on calls and in work outs. I know I'm a good firefighter and I can do the job, but I couldn't pass the test. The first couple of times I figured well, if I can't pass the test maybe I shouldn't be a firefighter at all. In my mind I should be able to pass the same test as a career person because we're both firefighters. But, I couldn't give it up.

So, do you think my ability to pass or not pass the test is a true reflection of my fire fighting abilities? I'm about to graduate from college and so I'm about to start taking the tests again, probably including the CPAT this time. Any suggestions on how I can pass the test this time?

MembersZone Subscriber

what parts are you mainly haveing problems with? take those and work on them. yes and no on the physical part. IF you are a good firefighter and not in shape,well your not realy a good firefighter. you need to be in the best shape that you can. you and/or your other "brothers" life may depend on it some day. but that should only make you want to get into shape that much more. not deture you from it.

Forum Member

How are you not passing it? Are you tiring out before you finish? Are you taking too long and running out of time? Is it certain evolutions that are messing with you? What are you telling yourself mentally before and during the test? There are a bunch of reasons people fail PT tests. Some more specifics might help others give you some better pointers.

MembersZone Subscriber