Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

they had tin ceilings and most guys on this department had little to no experience with them
    Tin ceilings suck. Most of my downtown area has them sandwiched between drop ceilings, sheetrock, and tongue an groove.
    "This thread is being closed as it is off-topic and not related to the fire industry." - Isn't that what the Off Duty forum was for?

MembersZone Subscriber

Our bread and butter fires are the 2 and 3 story rowhouse. Most of them have a skylight/hatch directly over the stairs. This is usually all that needs to be hit at most fires. Tap 3 times real loud to warn the engine advancing and break the glass. Sometimes a place has had more than one fire and the glass has been replaced by a box made of metal and roofing material. Very seldom do we need to cut the roof on these homes.

I worked in construction before getting hired and we built a 2 story brick mental health building back in 78'. Over the middle stairwell, the architect installed a hatch that was set to open automaticly for fire at a given temperature. They've never hosted a fire there but the same guy placed big AC units and generators on the roof of this building.

Forum Member