Forum Member

Default from: hogboy - officer.com

Today, 06:04 PM #2
    Hogboy
    Forum Member

Originally Posted by J Bo1664
    First of all, let me say that I have been around the forums for a while but have not posted. I have noticed a large number of people on here calling themselves cops, just because they are in LE. Being in LE does not make you a cop. The cops that are on this forum know what I am talking about. If you are not a Cop, then this will make some of you mad. I have a geat deal of respect for reserve and auxillary officers. Before I went full time 8 years ago, I was a reserve at the PD I work at now. When I met someone for the 1st time during my reserve period, I did not tell them I was in LE. I told them what I did for a living, which at the time was construction. If the PD got brought up, sure I would talk about it, but I did not label myself LE because I did not do that full time. I still help out with my PD reserve unit, and think of some of the guys as good friends. This being said, I do not appriceate someone identifying themselves as a Cop, when they are not. We have a problem in my area with several "special reserve", or "special auxillary units". They are very good at stirring crap up so a Cop can come clean it up. The academy at my PD is 26 weeks, it is hard as hell. I take pride in the fact that I passed. I did not go to some Wed. night class and get certified. After my academy and 4 mos of FTO, I can and will call myself a COP. I have been scared, hit, spit on, shot at, lied to, called everything but my name, and have walked into situations that I wished like hell I did not. I am a COP. If this offends you, I am sorry. Like my training Sgt. told us on day one after about 150 push-ups, "If it was easy, every body would do it". God Bless.

I agree. It's like volunteer firemen calling themselves "firefighters" when in reality they are pretenders and most of them are arsonists.