MembersZone Subscriber

Default High School Senior Needs Help With Career In Fire Service

Hello, my name is Perry Power, and I am new to the Firehouse fourms. A little introduction about myself, I am a High School Senior at Marion Military Institute in Marion, Alabama. My hometown is in Georgia. During last summer, I was able to expose myself to a local explorer post in my hometown, and since then, I can not think of doing any other job. My family is upper middle class, and alot of people would like to see me get an MBA or something of that extent, but quite honestly, I would rather do something that I love everyday, than make a good amount of money and hate my job. Currently, I have applied (and been accepted) to Montgomery College in Rockville, Maryland to work on an Associates degree in Fire Science. I have also began the process of becoming a "live in" with the Rockville Fire Department for the duration of my studies. I just wanted to ask anyone out there that has experance if there is something that would be benifical for a career in the Fire Service. I have already purchased a couple "Firefighter Examintion" test books, and try to make it a habit to study one to two hours a night in them. I am also activily looking to get my EMT-B certification while I am at Montgomery. I have a clean record, I have never been in trouble with the law, I have yet to get a single traffic violation (knock on wood). I come from a somewhat turbulent past (my mother began drinking beyond recognition when my parnets got divorced) and my father took both myself and my siblings through a very long legal battle. Besides that, I have absoultly nothing out of the ordinary. I am 6 foot 2, approx. 220 pounds, and can hold my own. Is there anything that I need to do to further prepare myself? What is the best situation that I can put myself in to one day be hired by a Fire Department? I would prefer to work in a larger city (I know FDNY has HUGE waiting lists), but I feel that if I play my