29 34.94%
  • Masters

8 9.64%
  • Batchlor or Associates related to Fire/EMS

12 14.46%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default Career firefighters, what is your educational backround?

Carrer firefighters, what is your educational backround?

I ask because I am a freshman at a small liberal arts college in OH, and up until this year had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I knew it would probably be something in either military/LE/EMS/Fire but I wasnt shure which direction I wanted to take my life.

Fast forward to today, I got started being a first responder as a part of the on campus EMS program, we basically volunteer to take care of the really drunk kids that security finds. My instructor for the FR course is a full time capt for the volunteer dept just out of town, and ive had a few chances to ride along on EMS calls and I LOVED IT! I know without a doubt Fire/EMS is something that I want to do. Im hoping to start volunteering with them next year after I complete my EMT-B this summer.

If I could imagine a dream job it would be a FF/paramedic, from the nature of the work, to the scedule, it seems like a perfect fit for me. But what is the best way to achive that? Stick with this current school and get a degree unrelated to firefighting/EMS(probably PoliSci or Econ) while volunteering and getting fire certs and experience? Transfer somewhere else to get a Fire science degree?

I wanted to get a sense of what most carrer firefighters had as far as education and what would help me the most as far as getting hired with a full time dept.

Thanks for the advice!

Forum Member

Bachelor's degree...starting on Masters this fall.

Forum Member

I had my bachelor's degree when I was hired full-time and have since earned my master's degree. In many cases, the type of degree doesn't matter. What matters is how you do on the test.