Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Speeding Ticket - Couple of questions.....

I was on my way to see my girlfriend tonight for an hour and also get the spare keys to my apartment that she has (I locked mine in my apt. today and it was all locked down. DOH!)

Anyway, I live in Jersey, and on my way out to Long Island, NY where she lives, I got ticketed for 78 in a 50. I'm not about to start a cop bashing thread. I was speeding, definately doing in the neighborhood of 78, and he caught me. End of story. I'm not going to try and blame him and say hes stupid or whatever. Fair is fair. But two questions:

I don't know NY driving laws. In New Jersey we have a point system. You are awarded points for infringements. The back of the ticket states I owe a fine of 90 dollars and a surcharge of 50 for my penalty (11-30 over limit) but it does not state anything about points. I called an NYPD friend of mine and he said if I was a NY driver, it would be 8 points but he didn't know how it transfered over that I'm a NJ driver. Anyone with no-how on this?

Secondly, I just noticed now that on the bottom of the ticket, there is a section that states:

Quote:
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I acknowledge receipt of this summons. I understand it is my responsibility to read and comply with the instructions on my copy, and that my signature is not an admission of guilt

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have always heard that in certain situations, if some of the major parts of a ticket are not filled out or filled out incorrectly, the ticket is absolved as a technicality. I wouldn't mind that happening here. Was I supposed to sign this when he gave it to me. It is a carbon copy, so the ticket he has also doesn't have my signature.