Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by sfdffemt17
    Being from NH and also being an EMT I can assure you that the National Registry, nor the State of NH Bureau of EMS is issuing certifications or licenses of any kind to 16 year olds. As a certified frist responder you are practicing emergency medicine, albeit at its most basic level. Being the fact that you are 16 you could not be held liable if any mistakes were made. Your department may in fact call you a "first reponder apprentice" or something like that, but you do not have a license number from the State, nor are you certified as any sort of apprentice.
    yes you are correct that the national registry wont take anyone under 18, however he most likely can get a state cert. maybe NH is different, but im 17 years old and live in NJ and i hold an EMT-B certification...
    NJ FFII/EMT-B

Forum Member

Most states have their own first responder level certs. For instance Vermont had the ECA or emergency care giver certification. It was slightly above the national registry first responder and allowed Vermont first responders to use oxygen and I believe assist in backboarding. In fact unless you are a "National Registry" state chances are all of the certifications are somewhat unique to the states. Some states have EMT-D or EMT-B plus AED, etc... I know in Vermont you can have a first responder cert and the ECA cert(if it still exists) before the age of 18. I am not sure about New Hampshire but I know I took the first responder class with a bunch of Charlestown, NH firefighters. This was about 4 + years ago and I have been an EMT-Basic for almost 2 years now so I am not 100% with current rules/laws.
    Last edited by 38ffems; 04-24-2006 at 04:00 PM.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Slaytallica45