Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Radiation Dosimeters

Firefighters...Here's my dilema. I'm in charge of putting together a class on some dosimeter's purchased by my department. The problem is I have no background in radiological monitoring, theory, etc...

I have found a fair amount of information on responding to radiological incidents on the internet, but none of them have a lot of information on dosimetry. The manufacturer's manuals leave a bit to be desired.

Does anyone have information (or know a link to information) on DMC-2000 type dosimeters and/or Arrow-Tech Direct Reading Dosimeters (they look like pen-lights)?

Any help or information is appreciated.

Thanks!

MembersZone Subscriber MalahatTwo7's Avatar
    Loco madidus effercio in rutilus effercio.

Toss me a PM and I will do my best to answer your questions.
    If you don't do it RIGHT today, when will you have time to do it over? (Hall of Fame basketball player/coach John Wooden)

"I may be slow, but my work is poor." Chief Dave Balding, MVFD

"Its not Rocket Science. Just use a LITTLE imagination." (Me)

Get it up. Get it on. Get it done!

impossible solved cotidie. miracles postulo viginti - quattuor hora animadverto

IACOJ member: Cheers, Play safe y'all.

Forum Member

DMC-2000, digital display, read it like a pager. Comparitively high maintenance.

The Arrow-Tech Direct Reading Dosimeter, point the bottom at a light source, look through the top and read the scale. These are also called PICs - Pocket Ion Chambers. Low maintenance.

For either unit, make sure you get units that read in millirems (or milliroentgens), not REMS.

The direct reading units will require the least maintenance, they do not need batteires (except for the "charger" calibration unit).

If I can help more, send me an email.

Scott
    www.gvfd.org

Forum Member