Forum Member

Default Looking for a job

Hello,

I'm intrested in moving to TN. I've been there a few times and have really enjoyed the area. I'm told that the area around Nashville is booming but im looking to go anywhere really. I'm currently a POC firefighter/medic. I was wondering if anybody out there knows any information on the hiring scene down yonder. Where im from its usally 200 people for 1 job. Any information on anything, future hires, people to contact, etc. would be greatly appericated. Just PM me or post it here.

thanks

MembersZone Subscriber

I don't keep track of hiring in Tennessee, but Union City - we're in the upper left hand corner - will be hiring 2 soon. Deadline to apply is 8 May. Usually we have about 50:1 applicants to positions, but it can vary widely.

Download an application from the website: http://www.ucfdtn.com

(Don't blame me for the website design! )
    ullrichk
    a.k.a.
    perfesser

a ship in a harbor is safe. . . but that's not what ships are for

Forum Member

Lt. Ullrich,

Does your department have an upper age requirement? Do you know if other departments in West TN do (Martin, Milan, Lexington, Paris, Dyersburg, or any other departments I may be missing)?

MembersZone Subscriber

Union City has no max age limit posted on the job notice. There is a minimum age of 20. If you're even remotely interested (or know someone who is), it would be worth your time to put in an application.

When I worked for Martin, there was no max age either, but they have gone through some changes and I don't know if that's still the case. Martin's Chief tendered his resignation, so if they promote from the ranks there's a possibility they might have an opening soon, too.

I can't speak of any other departments in the area as to max age or hiring status.

Feel free to PM me if I can answer any other questions.
    ullrichk
    a.k.a.
    perfesser

Forum Member

I'm told Shelby County Fire Department is hiring or will be opening hiring soon.