Tam
    Forum Member

Default Training question

Ok, CPATs in 3 weeks. I've been training for nearly two months now... alternatind lifting 3 times a week and cardio and stairs 2 times (rest on weekends). I've been doing all the muscle groups at once on the lifting days and my question is whether or not I should start splitting the muscle groups up for different days? So far I've been doing cpat specific exersizes (plus others I jsut add in) for about an hour, 3 sets of 10 on each.

Oh, and I just recently realized that they strap a 50 pound vest on ya for the whole thing, I had originally thought it was only the 75 for the stairs. I don't have access to anything like this (nor the money to buy one) except for an old backpack I threw 50 lbs into that I've been hiking around with this last couple weeks. Are there any exercises that can help me better prepare for that?

MembersZone Subscriber

Default The back pack with weight! Ugggh!

The Cpat vest sits completely differently on your torso and spine than that back pack would. I am cringing here! If you are going to use that, put half the weight in it that you need, and carry a plate to your chest for the rest of the weight. Otherwise, I fear you will hurt your back!

Other than that, search for someone in your area who has a weight vest and borrow it! Please!

The explanation you gave of the workout you are doing was not enough information for me to know exactly what you are doing. If you are doing task specific training with resistance, as you say, how much? How many exercises? how many reps? How much weight? If you are doing just 3 sets of 10 of each body part, I'd say no, that's not enough. If you mean 3 sets of 10 each exercise and say 3 back exercises, that's probably enough.

I might suggest breaking it up, and working toward:
    1. Do Back and Biceps one day. 3-5 sets of 3 different back exercises. 3 sets of 2 different Bicep exercises. Abs, Abs, and lateral spinal flexion and low back work.