Thread: FDNY GPS Units

Forum Member

Default FDNY GPS Units

FDNY to install GPS in rigs

Keep in mind that if what they are really saying is true about cutting 33 seconds off and that is their real intent, then good for the the mayor. I am a techie by trade and love gps and its capabilities but with it comes the "big brother is watching" when you can see the rigs moving around on a map. "Hey why you still at the deli?"

It just amazes me that rescue rope bail out kits were removed originally and stations are closed due to funding issues, but look ma' its magic we found this cash to put GPS in all ems and fire rigs. It just scares me on the what's next front. I just fear "hey we always know where you are so just stay mobil all day and we'll close up a few more stations to pay for the project.

Again, I love technology and the good things it has to offer us as far as mapping/routing, hydrant locations, evac zone planning for hazmat clouds, etc, but for once I found something that sort of scares me in its underlying motivation.

Forum Member

The Big Brother aspect should not be an issue. In is a public service job paid for by the public. If you are scared to stand up to scrutiny of your habits, than either fix those habits or find another job.
    Be for Peace, but don't be for the Enemy!
    -Big Russ

Learn from the mistakes of others; you won't live long enough to make them all yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by nyckftbl View Post
    LOL....dont you people have anything else to do besides b*tch about our b*tching?

Forum Member

I always giggle when people say "Well, -this- got funded, but why not this?" I used to have the same complaints until I started writing grants for my agency... lo and behlod, it really is true... you go where the money is. In today's "Homeland Security" era, money abounds (but it getting slimmer) for various things. I'd wager FDNY found a DHS grant of some kind and nabbed it.