MembersZone Subscriber

Default Masters or Fire Science

Hey Guys,

Quick Question.

I have just started pursuing a position as a firefighter. I went on a ride-along with my uncle and haven't been the same since. Obviously I have no experience except CPAT, CPR, and EMT-B this summer.

My question is am I more likely to be hired if I finish my Masters (20 units left) or start taking Fire Science courses at a Junior College.

Thanks,

Shook

Forum Member

If I were on an oral board and asked the question "How have you prepared yourself for the job of firefighter" and you said you almost have a Masters Degree and have Fire Science classes. That tell me your are working toward a career in the fire service. You have your foot in the door. If you show up and said that you have done nothing toward being a fire fighter (classes) then I'd pick the other guy. I've been on oral boards and have asked that very question and you should see them think.....
    So I say take some fire science classes and get started toward being a fire fighter.

Respectfully,
    Jay Dudley, Retired Fire

Forum Member

Default Masters

Jay is right.

Will some of the 20 units left be covered with any fire classes?

What is your masters in?

Could you say I'm taking fire science classes and will have my maters in the fall (will have sounds better than I need 20 more units)?
    Last edited by CaptBob; 04-20-2006 at 07:23 PM.
    ______________________________ _______________

"Nothing counts 'til you have the badge . . . Nothing!"

Fire "Captain Bob"

www.eatstress.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Shook,
    FINISH YOUR MASTERíS DEGREE!!!!!

With only 20 units left you can bang it out in one semester. Get it done now while youíre still young. If you donít do it NOW you never will. The six months it will take you to complete your degree will not make a hill of beans difference in 10 years.