Forum Member

Default Volunteering question

Hi everyone, I want to ask other volunteers about this situation. I am currently new to the fire service, just got out of a cert class, applying for jobs but want to badly volunteer to get experience and training as well be able to help others. Anyway, the nearest volunteer county is 45 minutes to 1 hour away, no local volunteer stations and the thing is I do want to eventually work for this department but want to volunteer first, anyway, is it possible to volunteer for a county this distance away? They do require to attend training and business meetings to make up required 20 hours a month, and the option of serving time by staying at a firehouse. But the thing is I wouldn't be able to respond to calls in a quick manner which would defeat the purpose, but was just wondering is it possible to volunteer being 45-1 hour away? Im sure they have a residency requirement but being this the only volunteer station around the area, I do want to volunteer for this county, just not sure how to go about doing it?? Has anyone ever traveled to volunteer out of their county or city?

Forum Member

I find it extremely unlikely that it will work, unless there is some type of residency program, or you can volunteer on certain nights and stay at the Station. 45 minutes to an hour is just plain too far. :-\ Hope you can figure something out.

Forum Member