makes good girls go bad

Default Car fire troubles....

OK, I TRIED the search, but I am not good at it, so;

We just had a car fire, at I tried to get the hood open, and it just wouldnt open.
    Fire was in the engine compartment, and extended into the passenger compartment by the time we were on scene. The hood was burned and the hood release was gone in the passenger compartment.

Tips/Tricks guys?
    PLEASE!
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by BLSboy
    OK, I TRIED the search, but I am not good at it, so;

We just had a car fire, at I tried to get the hood open, and it just wouldnt open.
    Fire was in the engine compartment, and extended into the passenger compartment by the time we were on scene. The hood was burned and the hood release was gone in the passenger compartment.

Tips/Tricks guys?
    PLEASE!
    Drive the point of the Halligan into the front corner of the hood and pry toward the opposite corner. This will give you a decent opening to get a stream into to knock down the fire.
    I've done this numerous times and it works great.

Also, using the fork of the Halligan to engage the latch cable through the grill and twisting it will sometimes get the latch to release, but this has been hit or miss for me when I've tried it.

Kevin
    Last edited by fireman4949; 04-22-2006 at 08:58 PM.
    Fire Lieutenant/E.M.T.
    IAFF Local 2339
    K of C 4th Degree
    "LEATHER FOREVER"
    Member I.A.C.O.J.
    http://www.tfdfire.com/
    "Fir na tine"

MembersZone Subscriber

K-50 Circular Saw-V-cut over the locking mechanism and open it up.

Forum Member