Forum Member

Default NJ - A ton of questions

First off, ive been reading this forum for quite some time and have made use of the search function.

Now the background info. Im 20 years old, currently in a volly dept. I work as an IBEW electrician. I would like to get hired in in 4-5 years. That way I could finish what I started with my apprenticeship. I think between my volly experience, counstruction experience, I would make a good career firefighter. My goal is to get hired on in Jersey City. Why you ask, b/c I really like the town, and its where a bulk of where my local get work out of, and its a city on the move.

So here are the questions:
    How do I find out about the hiring process in JC? EG testing dates, type of test, so I know what to study for, ect.

Do you think that realistically, i could have a job there in 4-5 year, or would it be even longer?

What are some website, or phone numbers I should find out (JCFD does not have a very detailed website about the info im looking for)

Any other info you may have would greatly be appreicated, thanks for reading this and offering you help.

Ive really got my heart set on JC, like I said b/c I really like the area and I do work in the Bergen, Hudson and Essex county area, so moving to JC would put my closer to were I work. I would consider some other depts, but b/c of the whole residency thing, I feel I would be better off in JC b/c it is the largest career dept, or at least right up there in size with Newark, Paterson, or Camden.

MembersZone Subscriber

I would encourage you to knock on the door and ask the firefighters. I am certain you will find them very helpful and they can best point you in the right direction.

I would also encourage you to enroll in an EMT course as well as fire science courses. When you are serious and "ready" per your 4 year plan you will have much to offer to the department.