Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default What is CPAT day like?

I have a CPAT test for a semi big city, with about 500 plus or more applicants probably testing. The test is a written on Monday and the CPAT on Tuesday type of deal, but since this is my first time, how are all the CPAT tests conducted with that many people? Does everyone stand and wait for their turn? Sorry if this is a dumb question, but this is my first CPAT and am pretty nervous. I didn't get to make it to any of the practice sessions due to my strict work schedule but am in decent shape and have been preparing, more then I should have though. I am familiar with all of the stations and the time limit, but was wondering how the test itself was conducted with a lot of people on the actual test day, with a test time starting at 8 am?

R.I.P K.Apuzzio 4/11/06 Fargo2722's Avatar

Good question. I recently too the IAFF CPAT for Fairfax County, VA. They had us scheduled for certain time blocks but it ended up running a few hours behind. For Fairfax they had use check in and then just put us through the course in the order we checked in. They had a few people on the course at any given time so you don't have to wait until the person in front of you finishes. If you're not sure what time you're going to step off I would bring a bottle of water and perhaps some type of energy bar incase you start to get hungry. Obviously be careful eating anything too close to your start time but when i arrived to find i had a two hour wait i was wishing i had something to tide me over. I would also bring a book or magazine. The worst part of the whole process for me that morning was sitting there waiting to get going in a room with 25 other people with nothing to do but get more nervous.