Forum Member

Question Whats the best route?

Im a freshman in college, and it has recently become aparent to me that Firefighting is what I want to do with the rest of my life. The question I have is what is the best way to get there? I feel I have 3 options right now.

1. Stay at my current 4 year college. I am currently going to a small liberal arts school in Ohio that offers nothing in the area of fire or emergency services. I do however have connections with one of the local volunteer departments which provides both fire and ems. I am getting my EMT-B this summer and cheif says that I should be able to start volunteering when I get back to school. I would be able to complete my current degree(poli-sci or econ) as well as gaining things like FF1/2, hasmat, ect durring my summers. When I graduate, there would also be oppertunities to get my EMT-P certification.

2. My other option would be to transfer to another school for fire science. To be honest I would be alot happier studying things related to my carrer, but on the other hand I might not be able to volunteer, and it might take longer to get a degree being that alot of the courses ive taken in college already would not be used towards my major. I would like to get a Bachelors and im not shure of any schools in OH that offer a 4 year degree in fire science.

3. My 3rd option is to enlist in either the army or the airforce with Firefighter in my contract. This would gain me extra points on exams, as well as training and experience.

Whats the best route to take to achieve my goals? Keep in mind that paying for school is not an issue(thank God!!)
    Last edited by BFunk09; 05-02-2006 at 06:03 PM.

Forum Member

Default RE:Whats the best route?