Forum Member

Question Accelerant Detection Dogs???

I was wondering if anyone could help me with a little bit of information. I am 16, I live in Arizona, and I wanted to know what the requirements for an accelerant detection dog handler is. I have a 1 yr old mastiff and just for a challenge I started training her, it surprised me that in like four days she is now able to detect one accelerant and knows to sit to alert me to a find. She seems to really enjoy doing this and I was wondering if it would actually be possible for us to become a certified team. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by az2nj2006
    I was wondering if anyone could help me with a little bit of information. I am 16, I live in Arizona, and I wanted to know what the requirements for an accelerant detection dog handler is. I have a 1 yr old mastiff and just for a challenge I started training her, it surprised me that in like four days she is now able to detect one accelerant and knows to sit to alert me to a find. She seems to really enjoy doing this and I was wondering if it would actually be possible for us to become a certified team. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
    My first thought is that you need to have someone sponsor you in this endevor. Are you using food or play as a reward? If using food it can get very expensive and you must train every day so the canine can eat. You will also need to find a chemist that is willing to certify you on a yearly basis. As far as the requirements, it is up to the indiviual agency who is the sponsor. There are several groups that train canines for departments. One is the ATF and another is Stae Farm insurance. ATF uses labradors for their accelerant and explosive canines. Hopefully this was some help. If you need more information feel free to PM me and I will try and answer any more questions. You might also try here http://www.atf.gov/about/programs/canine.htm