Thread: south florida

MembersZone Subscriber

Default south florida

hello....i am a firefighter emt in south florida and have been having a hard time getting hired due to the fact that i am not currently a paramedic.....i am curious to know how long the fire inspector classes are and if anyone knows of any depts that may hire with only ff and emt certs........i figured maybe if i get my cert for fire inspector maybe once im on with a dept i can then get my paramedic cert.....its been kind of hard to work full time and try to go to medic school at the same time.........any input would be greatly appreciated....thanks in advance.......

Forum Member

You will have that problem almost anywhere. I live in and work for a west central florida department. Pasco County Fire Rescue, Hernando County Fire Rescue, Citrus County Fire Rescue, Orange County Fire Rescue, Tampa Fire and Hillsborough County Fire Rescue all hire FF/EMT's but some require Paramedic within a specified number of years. Perhaps there are some in South Florida that do the same. Unfortunately, you will always get bumped from a slot by a FF/Paramedic.
    The problem I see with getting your fire inspector cert and then going after your paramedic is that as a fire inspector you will most likely work a forty hour work week. Most paramedic programs are set up to run during the day like normal college classes or are shift friendly for fire fighters on duty. This puts you back in the same predicament that you are in now. Also, inspector positions don't open up too often.