Thread: Fishers IN.

MembersZone Subscriber

Exclamation Fishers IN.

Could anyone tell me about the Fishers IN. fire dept. I am at the interview stage of the testing process and I havent heard much about them other than what I can find on their web-page. How many are they hiring? What do they pay? Are they Paramedics? Any information is better than none. Thanks.

MembersZone Subscriber

Only know a little; they are a young and progressive department, their training staff in heavily involved at a state level in improving fire service qualifications and standards. they don't want for money as much as some departments do b/c of a strong tax base, and i hear the pay is good for the area. i also know they have had some turnover from guys going to larger departments in the area.

Forum Member

Apparently they're not hiring for awhile either.

http://www.fishers.in.us/department/...n.asp?fDD=8-50
    I am a highly trained professional and can find my :: expletive deleted:: with either hand in various light conditions.

Forum Member

I'm in the interview process also. Not sure how many will get hired, if I remember right 7 or 8?

Starting in January if I remember correctly....

MembersZone Subscriber

The best way to learn about any department is to go to the stations and ask. Do yourself a favor though and DO NOT ask how many stations, how many calls they run or any other basic information that you can get from the fire department administration. I promise the firefighters will quickly see you as someone who is expecting THEM to do your research for you.

Here is a list of questions you should know the answers to BEFORE you go in for your interview.

I promise you that you will be glad you took the time to prepare. Good luck to you!

1. How long is the probationary period?

2. What can I expect from the academy?

3. How is the relationship between the fire department and the community?

4. How many firefighters are going to be hired and how long is the eligibility list?