Forum Member

Default Steelers Quarterback in motorcycle accident

The Steelers quarterback was involved in an accident Monday at 11:15 am. Reports are that he was not wearing a helmet and sustained injuries to his head.

http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=2480830

My questions is how dumb do you have to be not to wear a helmet on a motorcycle?

MembersZone Subscriber

My questions is how dumb do you have to be not to wear a helmet on a motorcycle?
    I completely agree but get ready for some slams. Mandatory helmet laws are hated by many riders and have been repealed in many states. Here's a link to a NHTSA study that looked at the before and after stats for two states.
    Last edited by EFD840; 06-12-2006 at 03:54 PM.

Forum Member

Funny you say that I have been riding my ATV for 6 years now and never wore a helmet well on Easter sunday I was riding around and actually decided to put it on well guess what? I crashed and went over the handlebars and my ATV ran me over...I thought it was very ironic all the times I never wore my helmet the one time I do I crash it. When I wear a helmet its like I'm being held back from enjoying the ride and most of the time it hinders my peripheral vision. Now on the issue on wearing helmets is, everyone is their own person and can make their own choices.
    NEVER FORGET!
    9/11/01

MembersZone Subscriber

I hope Ben recovers fullly, he is lucky to be alive. About helmet laws... make your own choices, but pay more for insurance so I don't have to pay to keep you in a rehab center for years.. oh, and make organ donor cards mandatory.

MembersZone Subscriber

If you are an adult and you choose ot to wear a helmet, I couldn't care less.

But what about Ben's thought process here...