Forum Member

Default Civil Service Exam

Just wondering if anyone is planning on taking the state civil service exam this year. Any good study or conditioning tips would be greatly appreciated.

Forum Member

I'm taking it this year, but this is my first time.... One the site they give a workout schedule for running. They also have on the DOP website the sample written test, and what the other tests are like. It all seems easy and according to the app, if you are a volunteer and pass all sections of the test, you get 10pts added on your score.

The only suggestions I have are these.... review all that stuff they have, get in shape, run a lot, and get your EMT-B. Also try and suck up to the department you are trying to get into, visit it and talk to the guys.

Forum Member

Yeah, I think sucking up to the dept. you are trying to get hired to is a bad idea. Go visit the chief maybe and ask some simple questions about the hiring process ONLY, nothing about their salary, work schedule, shifts, riding assignments or anything else unless he/she volunteers it. If you came into my station asking all types of questions, sucking up, trying to hang out- I would think you are a pain in the ***. Anyone can say whatever they want about this, but it is the truth. I work in a resort town and we have people coming in fairly often thinking that it is as simple as just walking thru the door and getting an application. Despite what other people might be suggesting, the Jersey pyshical can kick your butt, the competition is high especialy when you see the number of applicants to the number of jobs. I take pride in the fact that I did what it took to get the job and if someone came in with even a whiff of "all I have to do is pass a test and get a job", yeah they get a rude reception.