Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Are there any Bases that require Rescue School?

Does anyone know of any bases that require the Air Force Rescue school? It is one school that i would love to get into but our Chief isn't too happy with the idea of sending someone TDY there. We work on a base with large cargo ships and plenty of confined spaces but no one here is configned space trained. Kind of dangerous if you ask me but what do i know i'm just a firefighter.
    Mike
    Last edited by meapplegate; 06-20-2006 at 09:13 AM.

cgerdes97
    Firehouse.com Guest

Quote Originally Posted by meapplegate
    Does anyone know of any bases that require the Air Force Rescue school? It is one school that i would love to get into but our Chief isn't too happy with the idea of sending someone TDY there. We work on a base with large cargo ships and plenty of confined spaces but no one here is configned space trained. Kind of dangerous if you ask me but what do i know i'm just a firefighter.
    Mike
    I'm not sure that I know of any bases that REQUIRE rescue school. Especially if it is a base that has military FFs. When a military member gets a new assignment, his certifications are not considered in the process, so even if that base "requires" rescue school, they are going to get that new military guy regardless if he has it or not. On the GS side, if you are going for a position that requires rescue I or II, then yes, your going to need the cert. Should probably ask your Chief to reconsider, but then again, it's his department and his call..

Forum Member

Default Rescue School

I am on the GS side and work on a army base with no military firefighter. Our chief won't allow us to go to rescue school because he doesn't see it as required. I'm looking for a base where they will send you.

Forum Member

I work at a USMC base, and we are required (in our PD) to have confined space rescue tech.

Forum Member