Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Volunteer vs. Career

I just want to hear other expeirences in this topic.

I'm pretty new to my station. My station is a career station with volunteers. It seems most of the volunteers are angry all the time and they never want to train. The don't think they get called out enough, which is true for the fact most of our calls are medicals and our volunteers are not EMT's. Obviously I'm confused. I don't understand the problem. I like the fact that there will be volunteers if needed and I go to there meetings when I can or when on duty. It seems like some vol. are thinking of quiting becuase they get upset.

I was just wondering if there is friction between vol. and career at other places.

Forum Member

I don't know about were you are from or the station you are one but I can tell you that around here the paid stations we have are slowly but surely getting rid of there volunteers. MOST career personel see volunteers as not REAL firemen.... which is bull because the fire service started with volunteers. Its an on going battle that will probley go on forever. I see that in the next 20 years... its a shame
    EMS 172 Rescue 205 BLS 201 Engine 221 Truck 225 Pri. 1 10-50 PI 2 Pin-Ins!

FTM-PTB EGH

Work Smarter Not Harder!

Air Goes In And Out Blood Goes Round And Round Anything Else Is Bad!

If You Respond To A MVC After Midnight And Don't Find A Drunk Keep Looking Someone Is Missing

MembersZone Subscriber

Yes, that's exactly what I see. To be honest, the other career firefighters on our dept. don't have a problem with volunteers. The volunteers just seem to get an attitude. The only thing that it might be in my opinion is that they don't have as much responsibility anymore and maybe that upsets them. But if we had a big fire, I would love to have extra people there that have the training to help. I wish they could keep better attitudes.