Forum Member

Default Emergency Management

I have a question about getting into emergency management. I am currently majoring in Geography which with my Law Enforcement/Fire/EMS background I would imagine would make me a pretty good candidate for Emergency Management, however I was wondering if there are any NFA classes or some other classes I should look into taking. I have taken NIMS 700 and will probably be taking the 200 class soon.

MembersZone Subscriber

Visit FEMA's online training site here. They've got several good courses you can take self-study, including what they call the Professional Developement Series (PDS). You can also check with your states Emergency Management Agency for training classes. I know Missouri's SEMA has a web page full of classes throughout the state, including Advance PDS courses.

That should be a good place to start.

MembersZone Subscriber

There are plenty of courses to take and as luck would have it Uncle Sam is paying 100% for most of them. I just completed the ICS train the trainer on IS-100,200,300 and 400. These along with NIMS 700 and NIMS 800 will at least qualify you to work within the strucuture of a large scale incident under the "new" ICS. Basically, the Feds (DHS) want qualified persons to make up teams to respond to major incidents (natural disasters, WMD attacks, pandemics) and develop an organizational structure for longterm support of the mission. This is much like is done for large wildfires out west and was done for Katrina and 9-11. Evidentally there is money in this business, as your Uncle will pay dearly to make himself look good!

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by 38ffems
    I am currently majoring in Geography which with my Law Enforcement/Fire/EMS background I would imagine would make me a pretty good candidate for Emergency Management.....